Rasta Nicks Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

No news is good news!

Pages: [1] 2 3

Author Topic: Melchizedek  (Read 15358 times)

Onedread

• Standard User
Melchizedek
« on: August 09, 2007, 04:54:41 PM »

I am new to the trod of Ras and have much to learn i am learning much but would really like to talk to other people about Ras.   I have one very knowledgeable friend who i often reason with but would like to hear more views and reason more.

Could someone please explain Melchizedek.   I overstand he was from the bible but why is he important to many Rasta.

Sorry if i sound ignorant and if the question has been asked before

Praises to the Most I
When the power of love overcomes the love of power the world will know peace
Jimi Hendrix

Human

• Veteran User
Re: Melchizedek
« Reply #1 on: August 10, 2007, 01:17:28 PM »

Zedek
The time of the patriarch Abraham witnessed unusual behavior by the planet Jupiter. The fact that Jupiter displayed a burst of activity exactly in the time of Abraham must not appear a coincidence: it was in the times of great global catastrophes, when the world was threatened with destruction, that religious reformers gained prominence and contemporaries looked to a divine man for guidance.(1)

Zedek was the name of Jupiter, and we read that in the days of Abraham the planet underwent some visible changes. Rabbinical sources relate that when Abraham was on an expedition against Cherdlaomer, king of Elam, and his allied kings—who had captured and despoiled Sodom, and taken Abraham’s nephew Lot into captivity—the star Zedek illuminated the night, thereby ensuring the expedition’s success.(2)